Estonia will submit to the UN security Council, Eastern Europe.

At the UN General Assembly in new York, Estonia was elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for the period 2020-2021 years.

It is reported

In the vote was attended by all 193 member States of the UN. In the first round Estonia received 111 votes, and Romania – 78 votes.

In the second round in the vote was attended by 190 countries, Estonia received 132 votes, Romania – 58 votes.

New non-permanent members are selected from four regional groups – two from Africa, one from Asia-Oceania, one from Latin America and one from Eastern Europe. Still Eastern Europe in the UN security Council were represented by Poland.

We will add that in the first round of secret ballot, Vietnam, Tunisia and Niger received more than 190 votes and was elected. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines was elected on 181 votes.

Voting is via paper ballots, votes are translated three times.