BRUSSELS, 8 may. /TASS/. Permanent representatives of 28 member countries of the European Union will consider on may 8 additional restrictive measures against Russia in connection with the elections of the RF President in the Crimea. This is stated in the published on the websit e of the EU Council the agenda of the upcoming meeting of ambassadors (Coreper).

See also

Lithuania offers less to revise the EU sanctions against Russia

Kiev will impose new sanctions against Russia because of events in Britain and elections in Crimea

Department of state: Crimea-related sanctions will remain until his transfer to Russia Ukraine

Coreper will consider the inclusion of new positions in the list of restrictive measures (against Russia – approx. TASS) in connection with the elections of the President of Russia on the territory of Crimea and Sevastopol”, – stated in it.

In the case that the ambassadors of the countries of the community will agree on the introduction of new restrictive measures against Russia, the decision then needs to be formally and unanimously approved by the Council of the EU.

The package of sanctions

At the present time in relation to Russia there are several packages of sanctions of the EU: economic, individual restrictive measures and sanctions on the Crimea.

Sectoral measures were originally introduced on 31 July 2014 and affect the financial, energy and defense sectors, as well as dual-use goods. Economic sanctions, which were extended by this decision include the restriction of access to primary and secondary market of the EU capital for five Russian financial institutions with majority state share in the authorized capital of their subsidiaries in which these organizations have a majority stake and that are established outside the EU and to three major Russian energy companies and three defense firms.

Measures include an embargo on arms trade and a ban on exports to Russia dual-use goods for military purposes, as well as limiting Russia’s access to certain strategic importance technologies and services that can be used for the development and production of oil, including offshore or in polar conditions.

In addition to economic sanctions, from the EU there are two independent sanctions package for Ukraine. First, this individual restrictive measures: travel bans and the freezing of Bank assets in Europe (if they are available or they could be found) 150 individuals and 38 organizations. Legal entity in this list mainly not Russian: it is the governments and military structures declared in Eastern Ukraine, LPR and DPR. The validity of the package until 15 September 2018, it is also extended for six months.

The third package is a set of targeted sanctions against the Crimea, which European businesses are prohibited to maintain any connection. These measures taken in the framework of the so-called EU Strategy for the non-recognition of the annexation of Crimea to Russia, valid until 23 June 2018 and are renewed annually for 12 months.