Japanese is specified as the Islands of Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan and Habomai.

The South Kuril Islands were marked as Japanese territory in the materials that were used by the Japanese side in the coverage of the G20 summit in Osaka, reports “Interfax”.

The Russian foreign Ministry expressed protest in Tokyo.

The G20 summit was held in Osaka on June 28-29.

Japan claims the four southern Islands of the Kuril ridge – Iturup, Kunashir, Shikotan and Habomai, referring to the Treatise on trade and borders of 1855.