The General Director of the organizing Committee “Russia-2018” Alexei Sorokin

© Alexander Demyanchuk/TASS

MOSCOW, 3 Oct. /TASS/. Representatives of 28 football federations familiarized with the training bases that will be given to the selection of the participating teams of the world Cup 2018. This was stated by General Director of the organizing Committee “Russia-2018” Alexei Sorokin at the joint meeting of the Council under RF President on development of physical culture and sports and the Supervisory Board of the organizing Committee “Russia-2018”.

See also

Sorokin: the organizing Committee has not received from the teams of the negative reviews regarding the bases for the 2018 world Cup

Laying turf at the training base for the 2018 world Cup in Astrakhan will begin in October

The organizing Committee “Russia-2018” check suburban training base for the world Cup

Sorokin: FIFA appreciates the level of preparation of Russian cities for the 2018 world Cup

“Each team will be given three pre-match training grounds, 36 in total. And 67 bases to choose from, which will be located not only in the host cities, but throughout the Russian Federation. Our work with the football federations started about two years ago. This mainly concerns inspection visits to select bases of commands; only this time we were visited by 28 football federations,” – said Sorokin.

The CEO of the organizing Committee “Russia-2018” noted the importance of clear air and land transportation. “Each client group will be provided a specific package of transport services during the world Cup we will arrange flights for about 260 teams participating. In General, it is planned to involve 1254 passenger cars and 685 bus,” he said.

“The location of the client groups is also an important component of preparation for the tournament. Client groups will be accommodated in 40 thousand rooms in more than 400 hotels of three-, four – and five – stars,” he added.

World Cup matches will be held from 14 June to 15 July in Moscow, Saint-Petersburg, Kazan, Samara, Nizhny Novgorod, Rostov-on-don, Saransk, Sochi, Kaliningrad, Volgograd and Yekaterinburg. The draw for the final stage of the world championship will be held in Moscow on 1 December.