MOSCOW, may 22. /TASS/. The law on the development of the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation may be adopted in the autumn of 2017. This was stated by Deputy head of the Federation Council Committee for Federative structure, regional policy, local government and Northern Affairs Alexander Akimov in an open meeting of the “Association of polar explorers”.

See also related news:

The Arctic today

© Artyom Korotayev/TASS

Onf in Murmansk will teach residents separate waste collection

Ships and aircraft of the Northern fleet conducted exercises in the Barents sea

The days of the Arkhangelsk region opened in the Federation Council

Scientists are exploring the nests of the Gyrfalcon, found in the northernmost railway in the world

“We believe that this year it should be taken”, – said Ivan, Recalling that the bill focuses on the development of the region, infrastructure of the Northern sea route and others. “The draft law is very complex, he continued . Today in the state Duma and the Federation Council fully support it”.

In an interview with TASS, Akimov said that “much depends on the governmental structures, from economic and financial justification”. “I think, if you want, it can be taken in the autumn session, and will be, probably,” he said.

The draft Federal law “On the development of the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation”, submitted to the government in November last year, offers a new approach to the comprehensive development of the Arctic zone of Russia through the creation of so-called “reference areas” for the development of the region.

The permanent President of “Association of polar explorers” Artur Chilingarov also noted some progress in the promotion of the bill after a visit by Russian President Vladimir Putin and Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev of Franz Joseph Land.

“Mr Putin and Mr Medvedev visited the Arctic on Franz Josef land, President of the second time Dmitry Medvedev – for the first time, said Chilingarov. – Hence, certain instructions related to the preparation of the law on financing of the Arctic projects.”

Russian Arctic

The Russian Arctic includes the Murmansk and Arkhangelsk region, Komi Republic and Yakutia; Krasnoyarsk Kray; the Nenets, Chukchi, Yamal-Nenets Autonomous district, as well as “land and Islands located in the Arctic ocean and some uluses of Yakutia, who were declared Soviet territory the decree of the Presidium of the CEC of the USSR of 15 April 1926”. With Russian Arctic zone bordering the territory of four countries: USA, Canada, Norway and Denmark, which owns Greenland.

The total area of the Arctic lands of Russia is about 3 million square km (18% of the territory of the Russian Federation), including 2.2 million square kilometres of land, where more than 2.5 million people. It is less than 2% of Russia’s population (146,8 million) and more than 54% of the total population of the whole Arctic (4.6 million).

Produced within the Arctic minerals, their proven reserves and inferred resources constitute the bulk of the mineral resource base of the Russian Federation. It produces more than 90% of Nickel and cobalt, 60% copper, is removed about 80% gas and 60% oil, most of Russia’s diamonds. The potential reserves of these raw materials account for over 70-90% of Russia’s total.