Sanctions are imposed including from-for disappearances of political opponents of Lukashenko.

United Kingdom in connection with the withdrawal from the European Union introduces sanctions against Belarus, according to the website of the government of the country.

The government noted that the UK introduces its sanctions against Belarus, as the country comes out of the EU, which has imposed restrictive measures against Belarus.

In the message of the government said that the sanctions are intended to encourage the Belarusian authorities to:

to respect the democratic principles and institutions, as well as the separation of powers and the rule of law in Belarus;

to refrain from actions that suppress civil society in Belarus;

to properly investigate and to Institute criminal proceedings against the persons responsible for the disappearance of Yuri Zakharenko, Viktor Gonchar, Anatoly Krasovsky and Dmitry Zavadsky;

to comply with international law in relation to human rights and to respect human rights.

Now against Belarus after the suspension of EU sanctions in 2016 the arms embargo acts (restrictive measures include an embargo on weapons and tools that can be used for internal repression) and personal sanctions against four, which the EU considers involved in the disappearances of opposition politicians in 1999-2000. Since 2004, under sanctions remain Vladimir Naumov (former Minister of internal Affairs), Victor Sheiman (former head of Lukashenka’s administration), Yury Sivakov (in the period of the disappearance of politicians have held the post of interior Minister) and Dmitry Pavlichenko (commander of special forces brigade of interior Ministry troops). They were denied entry, and frozen assets in the EU.