The Vatican

15:17
Today
Telegraph

Interfax-Ukraine

The Catholic Church said that during the sacrament of communion you can use the bread made with GMO, but not gluten-free bread.

The Catholic Church came to the conclusion that during the sacrament of communion you can use the bread made from genetically modified foods, but no gluten-free bread.

According to The Guardian, cardinal Robert Sarah, it was considered necessary clarification in this matter, as it’s the bread and sacramental wine sold through the Internet and in supermarkets. He reminded that the bread must be baked by people known for their honesty and integrity, and the addition of sugar and fruit is a gross violation.

It is also forbidden to use wine “of dubious origin”. Communion or the Eucharist, in particular, implies the consecration of the bread (“body of Christ”) and wine (“blood of Christ”) and their subsequent use .